Loving Couple #1

Posted: October 10, 2008 in Inside The Playpen

Daddy Dino was neutered on 13 July 2008, 2 days after Dinky gave birth to their 5 kits.

Daddy's precious are now safely kept and locked in a chestbox😯 Kidding! It was buried in a place where it supposed to be of course! :mrgreen:

I know this is quite graphic.. Please don’t faint or vomit while reading this!

I planned to bond Daddy Dino and Dinky since the first time i saw them grooming each other thru their cage’s metal bars. Daddy Dino has a crush on her since their first meet😛

When Dinky was young, she loved to stuck her face between the metal bars, begging for grooming and licking..

When Dinky was young, she loved to stuck her face between the metal bars, begging for grooming and licking..

And then came a loving male bunny, grooming her and gave her a long last lick!

And then came a loving male bunny, grooming her and gave her a long last lick!

I thought the bonding process is easy.. But, nothing is call easy when only one of them was altered. Dinky is an unspayed female.. After gave birth and weaned, i found out that sweet Dinky Winky is become more agressive and bossy towards Daddy.

Everytime i tried to put them together, Daddy Dino lowered his head, asking for licks. But i saw Dinky dashed and jumped on him. They ran in circle until Dinky managed to climb on Daddy Dino’s back and humped him!😯 (It was so ugly to see a female humping a male! Hmmph! ) She tried to show her bossy attitude and claimed her dominance, but Daddy fighted back by humped her too. Many times, i heard a loud shriek from Daddy Dino while Dinky became more and more agressive, so i had to take Daddy Dino out from the playpen and calmed him.

Then, i found out a different approach to put them together without stressing Daddy Dino.

I set up a small playpen, using 4 pieces of 1m x 1m grill panel. Then i devided the playpen into two and put the bunny couple inside the panel, like this :

A playpen setup for bonding purpose

A playpen setup for bonding purpose

I stuffed the hays inside a toilet paper roll and stucked it in between of the metal bars.. so that they could share the hays.

No way! I'm alpha mama.. Hays are mine!

No way! I'm alpha mama.. Hays are mine!

Mom.. Look! She refuse to share. I want my own hays..!

Mom.. Look! She refuse to share. I want my own hays..!

I done this 2 hours a day, for the whole week.

Mom said we should end this war, or else there's no more yummy pellet for a week!

Mom said we should end this war, or else there's no more yummy pellet for a week!

The next week, i saw them laying next to each other in the playpen. So, i took out the center panel. There was no more run-and-chase, and no more loud shriek from Daddy, or ma’am attitude from Dinky. I expanded the playpen to 1m x 2m and sat inside the playpen with them to make sure they were mixed well. They love being pat. So, everytime i got into their playpen, they stretched out their neck and lowered their head on the floor. This process also took a week before i left home for 5 days (29 Sept – 3 Oct 2008). I was away to my hometown in Johor for Hari Raya holiday to meet my family there.

Soon as i reached Penang, i took them out from their individual cages and let them roam free in the room. And this is what i got :

I'm soooo happy with the result!

Loving Couple #1:mrgreen: I'm soooo happy with the result!

Now they’re living in separate cages, but i’ll put them together in a 1m x 2m playpen 2 hours every night for their dating process. Still showing their dominance, tho.. still haven’t see them grooming each other. But as long as they don’t harm each other, it is good enough.

Well, i would like to know if u guys have experience bonding the neutered male with unspayed female, or unneutered male with spayed female. Can they live in a cage together?

Comments
  1. Mei Leng says:

    hi, yes, my buck has yet to be neutered and my doe was spayed while she was about 4 months. i am glad that i don’t really face problem like yours. my buck does like to hump on my doe and most of the time my doe will just run away cos she is no more interested in mating……….my buck are not those aggressive type, once my doe run away from him, he will just chase for her for one or two round and give up. i was actually told that lop ear rabbit is more tame compare to other breed. further, my buns were bonded while they were about two months old…….i think this does help ……..anyway, i like yr idea of sharing the hay by using the toilet roll, it is really creative, i think i will try this out for bonding purposes once i get in another new bun…

  2. Mei Leng says:

    by the way, i separate my two buns and they r in different cage now since my buck like to hump on my doe and i do not want to stress up my doe unnecessarily.

  3. furrybutts says:

    Aww, they make such a cute couple!

    My vet keeps rabbits and he says that he has never had any problems with keeping an altered male with an unspayed female. He says its a good combination for him.

    I’ve never tried that.. but I think that since Dinky hasn’t been spayed, there may be times when she’s more hormonal than usual and it is times like this that Daddy’s gonna get bullied, LOL! But it’s just a thought.. I’m not sure if it will or will not happen with your happy couple😀

    They may be able to live in a cage together.. the bigger the cage the better so that they can have ‘alone’ time when either one doesn’t feel like being with the other. It’ll help to minimise confrontation & the possibility of fights.

    Keep us updated on Daddy & Dinky’s love affair!

  4. lm_meileng says:

    hi, my coco (buck) has yet to be neutered and my June (doe) has been spayed while she was about 5 months old. when i gain more knowledge in this area, i somehow dare not let my coco to be neutered as there is always a risk of death, too scare to lost coco……..hehe

    anyway, my coco love to hump on june and june will always run away from him cos she is no more interested in mating. my coco will chase after for one or two rounds in my dining hall and he will finally give up. it ends up both of them resting together, too tired, i guess. but i no more putting them in the same cage cos i do not want to stress up june unnecessarily. basically, both of them live quite peacefully as my coco is a lop ear breed and i heard that lop ear bunny is not so aggressive compare to other breed, that is why most of time, he is the one being the slave of my june. haha

  5. lm_meileng says:

    hi, sory for submitting 3 comments. my first and two comments was not in when i browse thro’ yr blog this morning. so i submit a new comment and now it appears. actually, i am trying to comment on the same things………

  6. nicotyyne says:

    Owh, it’s my fault actually.. i was too busy to realize that they’re comments waiting for my approval..😛

Leave a Reply

